Skip to content

London Olympics Day 16


I was excited to cover the men’s marathon on the last day of the Olympics as the weather forecast was a good one and they were scheduled to make one pass by Big Ben, one of the most iconic buildings in London. I shot here with my good friend Ezra Shaw at Getty, and then booked it to a pedestrian bridge to catch an overall of the race near the Thames River. The whole area was mobbed with people and once we were out of the media area for Big Ben, we were in with the general population. I knew that I had to make my way to the men’s basketball final and the closing ceremonies later in the day, so I had everything that I needed for those other events with me. We fought off other fans and security guards who were trying to keep everyone moving in time to make another of couple of nice images from there. From the bridge, I hopped on the tube and made my way to the finish line which was at Pall Mall.

The men’s gold medal match was a forgone conclusion. The USA team dominated most of the game and ended winning in unceremonious fashion.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

